Some Non OCA Research: Donald Weber

I subscribe to BJP and each month as read through the articles and look at the photos something will always make me stop and think. This month (BJP no. 7862 August 2017) so far (I haven’t read it all yet!) it’s a short interview with Donald Weber. In a few short answers I became intrigued about this guy. He was saying stuff that caught my attention but curiously none of his work was included in the interview. Does that matter? If it turned out that I was turned off by his work how then would I relate to his words?

Amongst the comments he made that appealed to me were:

  • Trust yourself. Allow yourself to open up and view the world as you see it. Experiment, don’t get caught up in photographic decorum

 

  • Let your curiosity get the better of you

 

  • Photographic practice is more about collaboration with others than the singularity of the ‘heroic artist’

 

  • Photography is a completely subjective experience.

 

Even though I’m still learning and by that I’m willing to try new approaches and techniques, I’m still developing my own vision. It is something I feel strongly about and so Weber’s comments have strong resonance for me.

I then went on to look at his work. Interested in Russian and Ukrainian life since he was a boy he has visited many times as a photographer. His series on Ukrainian police interrogation was just jaw-dropping. These images (at least the ones I’ve seen) were not voyeuristic, nor patronizing or sensationalistic, but demonstrated great empathy towards those being interrogated. It was also interesting to read his thoughts on the police, recognising that they were only doing what they were trained to do, so criticism is directed to the State and the power within bureaucracy.

Some References

An interview with Weber where he talks about his early influences to be come a photographer

https://birdinflight.com/inspiration/experience/20160418-donald-weber-luc-delahaye.html

Book review of Weber’s Interrogations

https://www.lensculture.com/articles/donald-weber-interrogations

Leave a Reply

